Is rum a whiskey?

Rum is not considered a whiskey. Rum is a spirit distilled from sugar cane, whereas whiskey is a spirit distilled from fermented grain mash. Like most alcoholic beverages, rum is made using fermentation, distillation, and the natural aging process, similar to whiskey.