What's the bright star in the sky?

Depending on the season and where you are on the earth, the brightest object in the night sky is probably one of the planets, i.e., Venus or Jupiter or the stars Sirius, Arcturus or Vega in the northern hemisphere. Sirius and Canopus are the brightest in the Southern hemisphere.