Where did the term graveyard shift come from?

The Graveyard Shift, or Graveyard Watch, was the name for the work shift of the early morning, typically midnight until 8am. The name originated in the USA at the end of the 1800s. ... "Graveyard watch, the middle watch or 12 to 4 a.m., because of the number of disasters that occur at this time."