Who was the first n. f. l. player on the cover of sports illustrated?

Yelberton Abraham Tittle Jr was the first NFL player to be on the cover of sports illustrated. Tittle played for the Baltimore Colts, San Francisco 49ers, and New York Giants during his NFL career.