Why do horses wear shoes?

Actually most horses do NOT wear shoes. Shoes are typically only used if a horse is going to work on rough surfaces like roads, rocky hillsides, etc, or if the horse has a problem with his hooves. Many competition horses wear sneakers - a slip on shoe worn only for the contests!