What is big stick diplomacy?

It is a term taken from the addage “walk softly and carry a big stick”, meaning that one should be calm, courteous and polite, but also present a show of force. In terms of diplomacy, it means to treat other countries well, but be they don’t mistake your country’s kindness for weakness.