What is a wood elf?

Depending on the context, a wood elf is a subspecies of elf that is less magically inclined and more physically durable. In The Hobbit, the elves of Mirkwood are called wood elves; in the fantasy setting of Dragonlance, the Qualanesti elves are wood elves.