When were weapons suppressors invented?

American inventor Hiram Percy Maxim, son of Maxim gun inventor Hiram Stevens Maxim, is usually credited with inventing and selling the first commercially successful silencer around 1902. The O.S.S. favored its use with the newly designed High Standard HDM 22 caliber LR pistol during World War II.