What's the difference between cheese and butter?

Butter and cheese are made of the same ingredient: milk. The main difference, however, is that butter consists of mostly milk fat. In fact, according to FDA standards, it must contain no less than 80% milk fat. Cheese on the other hand, consists mainly of milk protein.