What is the movie police detective?

New York City police detective Joe Leland is called to the home of a murder victim who has been beaten to death, head crushed, and has had his genitals removed. Puzzled and disgusted, the police on call are left bemused, and Leland holds things together with his direct, no-nonsense approach.