When did the dinosaurs get extinct?

Dinosaurs roamed the earth for 160 million years until their sudden demise some 65.5 million years ago, in an event now known as the Cretaceous-Tertiary, or K-T, extinction event. Besides dinosaurs, many other species of mammals, amphibians and plants died out at the same time.