When did peking become beijing?

In 1979, the People's Republic of China officially adopted "Beijing" as the pinyin romanization of the Mandarin characters for "Northern capital." It is correctly pronounced bay jing. The previous spelling, Peking, first appeared in the writings of French missionaries in the 17th century.