Are bananas in danger?

All commercial Bananas sold for eating are genetically identical. While this makes them great for consistent flavour, it leaves them vulnerable to the dangers of diseases. A new soil-borne fungus known as “Panama disease” can wipe out entire plantations – and it is rapidly spreading around the world