Do cats recognize their owners?

While cats seems to be unable to recognize their owners by overall look or face, they recognize us in other ways, like scent, touch, and sound. A 2013 study by scientists at the University of Tokyo found that cats can tell recordings of their owners' voices apart from strangers' voices.