How long did it take for them to build mount rushmore?

Mt. Rushmore began construction in 1927, when sculptor George Borglum, blasted his first piece of mountain from the granite wall. In 1941, Borglum died. Although his plan was to carve the four presidents from head to waist, his death ended the project in October 1941, 14 years after it began.