What was the name of the dog on sputnik?

The Soviet space dog on Sputnik 2, & the first animal to orbit the Earth, was named Laika. She gave her life for the mission in 1957 at the age of 3 years old, paving the way for manned space flight. She was a mixed breed found on the streets of Moscow. A statue in her honor is on display in Russia.