Why did marie antoinette say let them eat cake?

She probably didn't, but it was in response to hearing that the peasants were out of bread, so she asked "why don't they eat cake then?"

---

Marie Antionette showed great indifference to the suffering of the the French people. She allegedly replied, “ let them eat cake”, when approached with the topic of her starving people. This was offensive because at the time cake was a luxury item that the poor people of France could not afford.