Why did marie antoinette say let them eat cake?

Marie Antionette showed great indifference to the suffering of the the French people. She allegedly replied, “ let them eat cake”, when approached with the topic of her starving people. This was offensive because at the time cake was a luxury item that the poor people of France could not afford.