When was the first pumpkin card?

Exact date is unknown. The Irish hollowed out Turnips, gourds, potatoes, etc. A light was placed in them to ward off evil spirits, specifically one named Jack. Thus Jack O'Lanterns. In the 1800's Irish immigrants came to America and discovered that Pumpkins were bigger and easier to carve out.