What does five h. tp do?

5-Hydroxytryptophan, or 5-HTP, is an amino acid that your body naturally produces. Your body uses it to produce serotonin, a key hormone that stabilizes mood, feelings of wellbeing, and happiness. 5-HTP is often used as a supplement to increase serotonin levels.