Where does nutritional yeast come from?

Manufacturers can grow nutritional yeast on a variety of sources, including blackstrap molasses, whey, and sugar beets. Nutritional yeast is similar to the yeast used in baking, but it undergoes a heating and drying process that renders it inactive.