What is the tar spice?

Za'atar (pronounced "zah-tar") is a Middle Eastern spice mix of thyme, sumac, toasted sesame seed, and sometimes wild oregano. Arabic for the word "thyme," after the seasoning's predominant ingredient, za'atar has been used in Arabic countries since medieval times.