What is the largest railroad in the united states?

Burlington Northern Santa Fe (or BNSF) owns and operates the largest rail network in North America through wholly owned subsidiary BNSF Railway Company. The company manages ~32,500 route miles of track in 28 states in the US plus three Canadian provinces.