Why do cats like antifreeze?

As felines have highly developed senses, they can easily smell the strong scent coming from the antifreeze, especially from its main ingredient, ethylene glycol. The flavor of the liquid is also highly appealing to cats. If they have the opportunity to lick or drink it, they will.