Why was cocomelon created?

CoComelon was created in 2005 by Jay Jeon, a father of two in Southern California. Jeon, who had directed some TV commercials, was trying to teach his kids the ABCs. He started working with his wife, a children's-book author, to make videos to accompany the nursery rhymes they sang to their sons.