What's the average size of a newborn?

Newborns vary in size and shape as much as adults do. Full-term babies on average weigh between 5 pounds, 11 ounces, and 8 pounds, 6 ounces. They are usually between 19 and 21 inches long, with a head circumference of about 13.5 inches.