How do you get hot pepper off your hands?

The chemical in hot peppers, capsaicin, is not water soluble, so simple washing will not suffice. It will dissolve in oils or in milk, so using vegetable oil for 30 seconds first and then washing with dish soap - not hand soap - will help.