What is a montessori school?

Montessori is a method of education that is based on self-directed activity, hands-on learning and collaborative play. In Montessori classrooms children make creative choices in their learning, while the classroom and the highly trained teacher offer age-appropriate activities to guide the process.

---

A Montessori school uses the Montessori method of education. This is a system of education for young children that seeks to develop natural interests and activities rather than use formal teaching methods. It was developed by Italian physician Maria Montessori