How did star wars start?

In 1971, George Lucas wanted to film an adaptation of the Flash Gordon serial, but could not obtain the rights, so he began developing his own space opera. The first movie, Star Wars: Episode IV, came out on May 25, 1977.

---

The Star Wars opening crawl is a signature device of the opening sequence of every Star Wars series, created by George Lucas. Within a black sky background the crawl is preceded both by the opening static blue text, "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...." and the Star Wars logo which fades.