When was tenement square?

On June 4, 1989 the Tiananmen Square protests were student-led demonstrations in Beijing for the establishment of basic human and press rights. The protests were forcibly suppressed, with military using rifles and tanks to fire on protestors.

---

The Tiananmen spelled T-I-A-N-A-N-M-E-N Square protests were student-led demonstrations calling for democracy, free speech and a free press in China. They were halted in a bloody crackdown, known as the Tiananmen Square Massacre or June 4th Massacre, by the Chinese government on June 4 and 5, 1989.