Was john henry a railroad worker?

Yes. John Henry is an American folk hero. An African American ex-slave, he is said to have worked as a "steel-driving man," a man tasked with hammering a steel drill into rock to make holes for explosives to blast the rock in constructing a railroad tunnel.