Why can bees fly?

Bee wings are fairly small for their body size, so even at 230 beats per second, rigid wings wouldn't be able to let bees fly. Bee wings make short, quick sweeping motions front and back, front and back. This motion creates enough lift to make it possible for bees to fly.