What is a blue indigo snake?

The eastern indigo snake or blue indigo snake (Drymarchon couperi) is a large non-venomous colubrid snake found in the Eastern United States. Historically, their range extends throughout Florida, extreme south Alabama, the coastal plain of southern Georgia and extreme southeast Mississippi.