How did mount rushmore get its name?

Charles E. Rushmore, a NYC attorney, was sent out to this area in 1884 to check legal titles on properties. On his way back through the area he asked Bill Challis, a local resident and guide, the name of the mountain. Bill replied, "Never had a name but from now on we'll call it Rushmore."

---

Mount Rushmore is named after New York City attorney, Charles E. Rushmore.