Is the philippines a united states territory?

The Philippines became a defacto American territory in the 1898 Treaty of Paris between Spain and the United States. During World War 2, Japanese and American forces fought for control of the islands. On July 4, 1946, the independence of the Philippines was recognized by the United States.