What is la nina mean?

La Niña is an oceanic and atmospheric phenomenon that is the colder counterpart of El Niño, as part of the broader El Niño–Southern Oscillation climate pattern.

---

La Niña is a weather condition where changes in the ocean surface temperatures cause a change in weather patterns, resulting in excessive rain in some areas. California experiences this condition once or twice a decade.