Is dandruff a fungus?

Dandruff is not a fungus. Dandruff is dried flaky bits of skin on your scalp. The average human sheds about 40,000 skin cells per minute, and the entire outer layer of human skin renews itself about every 35 days. Guess your dog or cat, are not the only things in your house shedding.