Why does eggs turn yellow?

Yolk color depends almost entirely on pigments in the food chickens eat. If a hen eats plenty of yellow-orange pigments called xanthophylls, those pigments will make a darker orange egg yolk. When hens eat feed containing yellow corn or alfalfa meal, they lay eggs with medium-yellow yolks.