Do frogs have to live in water?

Frogs are amphibians, which means they live their lives both in water and on land. Typically, frogs breed and spend their juvenile stage in the water, and then spend some or virtually all of their adult lives on the land. How much time they spend in water will vary depending on the species of frog.