What is the definition of l. a. t. t. e. r.?

When someone says, "the latter", they mean the second of two things that were just mentioned. So, do you want to go to Disney World and ride a rollercoaster, or climb to the top of Denali and yodel? If you say "the latter", it is a short way of saying "the second one".