Why is jackson on the twenty dollar bill?

Andrew Jackson first appeared on the $20 bill in 1928. But the reason is unclear. The placement of Jackson on the $20 bill is somewhat ironic,since as president,he vehemently opposed both the National Bank and paper money. Andrew Jackson's image will be replaced on the 20 by Harriet Tubman in 2026