Why do we celebrate september eleven?

In the United States it is a day of remembrance. On September 11, 2001 several terrorists attacked innocent civilians in New York, Washington DC, and Pennsylvania. Several firefighters, police officers and other first responders lost their lives responding to the attacks on civilians.