What's the odds of winning at a slot machine?

The slot machine odds are some of the worst, ranging from one in 5,000 to one in about 34 million chance of winning the top prize when using the maximum coin play. The house advantage obviously doesn't mean that you can't win, because people do win (and sometimes they win substantial amounts