Why does swiss cheese have holes in it?

The holes in swiss cheese are created in the cheese making process. First, Lactic acid is produced by the bacteria which changes the milk to cheese. Propionibacter then uses the lactic acid to produce carbon dioxide gas. Those bubbles create the holes in the cheese.