What is poltergeist ?

According to the Oxford Languages dictionary, Poltergeist is "a ghost or other supernatural being supposedly responsible for physical disturbances such as loud noises and objects thrown around." Origin: Mid 19th century: from German Poltergeist, from poltern ‘create a disturbance’ + Geist ‘ghost’.