What is the vegetable chicama?

Jicama (HEE-kah-ma), sometimes referred to as yam bean, Mexican turnip, or Mexican potato, is an edible root vegetable native to Mexico. In Central America, jicama is often sold by street vendors and commonly eaten raw, and seasoned with lemon or lime juice and chili powder.