Who would win hornet or wasp?

Hornets tend to be more aggressive and likely to attack first. Hornets tend to be bigger and bulkier. A normal wasp sting can be life-threatening. Meanwhile, hornet stings can sometimes seriously injure or kill a person. Based on all of this, a hornet would probably win.

---

Compared to the average wasp, hornets are even more aggressive when provoked in head-to-head combat. However, a Yellowjacket is a wasp that can both sting and bite -- they will often bite to get a better grip to jab their stinger in. So the Yellowjacket wasp wins it all hands down.