Where does the nilla extract come from?

Vanilla extract is a solution made by macerating and percolating vanilla pods in a solution of ethanol and water. Although its primary flavor compound is vanillin, pure vanilla extract contains several hundred additional flavor compounds, which are responsible for its complex, deep flavor.