Is a. l. a word?

Al is a nickname for Alan or Albert, and it's the chemical symbol for aluminum. It's also part of the abbreviation et al, which is short for the Latin phrase et alia, meaning "and the others". It is also the definite article in Arabic, the equivalent of the English word "the".