How do you find gold?

Gold is usually found embedded in quartz veins, or placer stream gravel. It is mined in South Africa, the USA (Nevada & Alaska especially), Russia, Australia and Canada, so look for quartz in those areas. The gold will be dirty-looking threads within the quartz.