Why do they call it cold turkey?

The origin of the term may date to an 1877 satirical article in the publication Judy in which a man is poorly treated by a relative during the holiday, receiving cold turkey instead of roast turkey. He subsequently writes her out of his will, giving her the "cold turkey treatment"